SAFEGUARDING - A SAFE CHURCH

‘The parish of St James Clapham takes the safeguarding and care of children and vulnerable adults very seriously. Further information about this can be found below.

The care and protection of children, young people and vulnerable adults involved in Church activities is the responsibility of the whole Church. Everyone who participates in the life of the Church has a role to play in promoting a Safer Church for all.

St James has adopted and are committed to 'A Safe Church' policies and guidelines of the Diocese and Southwark.

Parish Contacts

If you have any safeguarding concerns , please contact one of the following from St James:

Maggie Marshall (Parish Safeguarding Officer): 020 8769 3665, amaggie2000@yahoo.co.uk

Blosmel (Norma) Watson (Parish Safeguarding Officer): 020 7627 8816

Revd Kit Gunasekera (Vicar): 020 7652 0882, kit.gunasekera2014@gmail.com

Marion Scott (Churchwarden): MJScott19@hotmail.co.uk

Jim Grover (Churchwarden): 020 7720 1223, jim.grover@me.com 

Where to get help with child and adult safeguarding issues

Details of the Lambeth Safeguarding Services

·About a child or young person
Professional line: 020 7926 3100
Public line: 020 7926 5555 (24 hours)

·About an adult at risk
Professional line: 020 7926 5555 (24 hours)
Public line: 020 7926 5555 (24 hours)
Email: adultsocialcare@lambeth.gov.uk

Key helpline information

NSPCC Child Protection Helpline: 0808 800 5000 (lines free and open 24 hours). Phone if you are worried about a child.

Child-line: 0800 1111 (lines free and open 24 hours). Phone if you are a child or young person and are worried about anything.

National Domestic Violence Helpline: 0808 2000 247 (lines free and open 24 hours). Phone if you are experiencing domestic abuse.

Samaritans Helpline: 116 123 (open 24 hours). Phone if you feel you are struggling to cope and need someone to talk to.

Action on Elder Abuse Helpline: 080 8808 8141 ( free phone Monday to Friday 9- 5pm).

Diocesan Safeguarding Advisers contact details

Diocesan Contacts

The Diocesan Safeguarding Officer

Kate Singleton

Email: kate.singleton@southwark.anglican.org

Tel; 020 7939 9423 Mobile 07982 279713 (for urgent matters out of hours)

Assistant Diocesan Safeguarding Advisers

Marie Daly and Louise Vernon Marie Daly

Email: marie.daly@southwark.anglican.org

Tel: 020 7939 9441 Mobile 07946 255295

Louise Vernon

Email: louise.vernon@southwark.anglican.org

Tel: 020 7939 9462 Mobile 07946 255622

A Safer Church - A Policy Statement from the House of Bishops

A safe church

Link to current edition of A Safe Church: https://southwark.anglican.org/safeguarding/diocesan-policies-and-procedures